2016 resolutions check-in

This year I did pretty well on some of my resolutions, and not so well on others… like the whole reducing my TBR thing? Horrible. I don’t want to talk about it.

Anyway… it’s as good a time as any to see how well I’ve done on these resolutions, with less than two weeks to go in the year. I am officially on winter break now, having survived my first semester of adjunct-hood, and I’m looking forward to doing all the reading over the next few weeks. Still, it won’t be enough time to make a difference in how successful (or not) I was in completing these resolutions.

  1. Stick to my TBR list. I meant this in the sense of “read what is already on my TBR rather than picking up some random book you just heard about”. Didn’t really happen. I’m a mood reader, and while I can stick to a TBR, it’s not unusual for me to pick up something I bought yesterday and let a book I’ve owned over a year sit there on the shelf longer.
  2. Start trading in or giving away books that I will never read or will never read again. I’ve done pretty well on this one. Every couple of months I go through my books, and I’m trying to be strict with my criteria – if I can’t see myself reading the book again, I get rid of it. I might have to be stricter and donate books that I can’t see myself rereading within a couple of years, or even one year, or something like that.
  3. Wait a month before buying a book that I am interested in reading. Nope! I give it more like a few days before I go buy the thing.
  4. Stop buying an entire series before I know whether I like it or not. Nope! I currently own at least 7 complete series I haven’t started. I don’t like the idea of starting one, loving it, and not having access to the next books. It’s weird and unnecessary, but there it is.
  5. Get my TBR under 200 books. LOL NOPE. I don’t know what it was at the beginning of the year, but it’s over 500 now.
  6. Read more classics. I read a couple of classics, but not that many. I’m not concerned with this, since I’ve already read so many.
  7. Read more graphic novels. Yes! I actually did this. I read around 20 graphic novels this year.
  8. Put myself on a book-buying budget. Hmmm… if I have a very loose definition of “budget”, then sure. But actually, no; I tried to limit myself earlier this year and it lasted about a month, but then… no.
  9. Write more about what I read. It’s hard to quantify this when my writing about books is here, on Goodreads, and on Instagram, so maybe? Based purely on my blog, I failed at this.
  10. Finish reading Harry Potter. I didn’t get this one done. Next year.
  11. Use the library more for fiction. I did pretty well with this one, especially over the summer. It’s always a nice feeling when you read something from the library and realize you would have hated to spend money on that.
  12. Read more. YES, I DID IT. In fact, I need to calm tf down a bit because I’m currently at 168 books, including rereads. At a certain point I stopped paying attention to my Goodreads goal because I kept raising it, and easily surpassed it. I think next year will be about quality, less quantity.

So I guess I was fairly successful, in regards to what I read, but not so much in terms of keeping my spending and TBR under control. I think it is something I am coming to accept. I already have ideas for next year’s goals, and they are fairly different. Funny how a year can change your priorities.

One thought on “2016 resolutions check-in

Leave a Reply

